One America News breaks down the contact tracing programs already rolling out in certain states and proposed at the federal level under the aptly named HR 6666.
On Tuesday, Washington Gov. Jay Inslee explained that all those who are identified to have been in contact with an infected person will be forced into mandatory quarantine until they test negative, with state-provided “family support personnel” checking in regularly and delivering supplies if need be. When asked how the state will handle those who refuse testing or self-isolation, Inslee remarked, “As far as refusal, it just shouldn’t come to that, and it really hasn’t. …we believe that will continue.”
North Dakota is more straightforward on the strategy for noncompliance:
ND says if you don’t comply with #ContactTracing you could be cited, fined $1,500 and be held in jail for 30 days.— Chris Berg (@chrisbergpov) May 14, 2020
What say you? pic.twitter.com/RcMbVJAnqZ